Lighting The Fire is our annual awards event to celebrate the young people, professionals and organisations who have excelled at managing conflict in our communities during the past year.

Lighting the Fire


Nominations are now closed. 

The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 18 May at Bloomberg LP, City Gate House, Finsbury Square, London, EC2A 1PQTo join us please register here or contact

At Leap we know that conflict can take many forms, whether that's violence, aggression, relationship breakdown with family and friends, low self-esteem, bullying or self-harm. 

Every day we see professionals and volunteers carrying out inspirational work to support young people to manage conflict - sometimes without even realising that's what they do. These people are in a variety of places such as schools, colleges, prisons, youth groups or in the wider community environment.

Lighting the Fire is a chance for young people, partners, funders and guests from across all sectors to come together and shine the spotlight on the extraordinary people who make this work happen. The awards ceremony is planned and hosted by Leap trainers and graduates. 


The award categories are for young leaders in our communities, inpirational adults who support young people, and a project or partnership working to help young people manage conflict. Our new award is sponsored by the Peer Mediation Network and celebrates a primary or secondary school who have successfully introduced a peer mediation programme. Entries are welcome from across the UK.  

Young Leader nomination form

Inspirational adult nomination form

Project or partnership nomination form

Peer mediation in schools nomination form

*The winning Young Leader and Inspirational Adult will win an iPad and the opportunity to join a Leap training course. The winning Project or Partnership and Peer Mediation project will win a one-day Leap training course.

See below for our latest news and updates

Lighting the Fire- Nominations now open!

By Katie Potter
Monday 13th February 2017